23 UMaine-Farmington Student-Athletes Named to the NAC Fall All-Academic Team

23 UMaine-Farmington Student-Athletes Named to the NAC Fall All-Academic Team

A total of 202 student-athletes have been named to the North Atlantic Conference (NAC) All-Academic Team after the fall 2017 semester.

UMF athletes include two from men's cross country, four from women's cross country, six from field hockey, three from men's golf, three from men's soccer, and five from women's soccer. 

NAC Release

The NAC All-Academic Team recognizes student-athletes on varsity sports teams who have earned a cumulative grade-point average of 3.50 or higher on a 4.0 scale. Student-athletes must also have reached sophomore academic standing and competed in a minimum of two years of varsity competition at their institution.

To view the complete list of the Fall 2017 All-Academic Team, please click HERE.

UMaine-Farmington Student-Athletes

Men's Cross Country - David Doering - Jr. - Secondary Ed Social Studies - Portland, Maine
  Connor Marland  - So. - Biology  - Wrentham, Mass 
Women's Cross Country -  Hannah Emery - Sr. - Elementary Education - Detroit, Maine
  Molly Jack - Jr. - Elementary Education - Bangor, Maine
  Sarah Jenkins - Sr. - Elementary Education - Old Orchard Beach, Maine 
  Laura Pulito - Sr.  - Secondary Education-English - Brownfield, Maine
Field Hockey - Sarita Crandall - Sr. - Elementary Education - Farmington, Maine
  Makayla Frost -  Sr. - Early Childhood Education - Fryeburg, Maine
  Lee-Anne Greenleaf - Sr. - Elementary Education - Gardiner, Maine
  Emma Martineau -  Jr. - Elementary Education - Greene, Maine
  Torrie Nightingale - Jr. - Elementary Education - Bangor, Maine
  Andrea Stemm -  Jr. - Biology - Gorham, Maine
Men's Golf -  Gavin Brickley - Sr. - Business Psychology - Plymouth, N.H.
  Clark Hayden - Sr. - Business Economics - Westmore, Vt.
  Michael Richard - Sr. - Business Economics - Turner, Maine
Men's Soccer - Hunter Michaud - So. - Secondary Ed Social Studies - Somersworth, N.H.
  Michael Pingree - Sr. - Elementary Education - Cornish, Maine
  Tristan Price - Sr. - Environmental Science - Moultonborough, N.H.
Women's Soccer - Lexi Dube - Jr. - Liberal Arts-Undeclared - Mt. Vernon, Maine
  Kaiti Kinney - Sr. - Elementary Education - Surry, Maine
  Eden LeBlanc - So. - Business Economics - Dayton, Maine
  Sophie Manning - Jr. - Elementary Education - Westbrook, Maine
  Lydia Roy - Jr. - Actuarial Science - Waterville, Maine


Of note, seven of the eight seniors that were recognized as the Senior Scholar-Athlete of the Year in their respective sport were also honored on the All-Academic Team. Those selections include field hockey student-athlete Lee-Anne Greenleaf (UMaine-Farmington; Gardiner, Maine), women's volleyball student-athlete Nia Arranaga (Husson; San Jose, Calif.), men's soccer student-athlete Josh Bellomo (Husson; Hudson, N.H.), women's cross country student-athlete Alyssa Maggi (Thomas; Belchertown, Mass.), women's tennis student-athlete Evelyn Miller (Colby-Sawyer; Smithfield, R.I.), women's soccer student-athlete Kate Steller (Castleton; Merrimack, N.H.), and men's golf student-athlete Ryan Swart (Salem State; Bridgewater, Mass.).

Impressively, 31 of the Sportsmanship Team honorees were named as a member of the All-Academic Team. The NAC Sportsmanship Team is reserved for those who have distinguished themselves through demonstrated acts of sportsmanship and ethical behavior. The honorees are individuals who have positively affected the sport culture and environment and whose behavior clearly demonstrates sportsmanship and integrity that go beyond the playing rules and etiquette. 

Additionally, a number of this year's All-Academic honorees also excelled athletically. The academic team consisted of 36 student-athletes who were voted as All-NAC selections in their respective sports, including 21 First Team and 15 Second Team selections. Also listed are Athlete of the Year honorees in three of the NAC fall sports, which included men's soccer Defensive Player of the Year Thomas Kirk (Castleton; Gloversville, N.Y.), field hockey Defensive Player of the Year Anne Marie Provencal (Skowhegan, Maine), and men's cross country Runner of the Year Grandon Smith (Castleton; Newtown, Conn.).